Liam Doran dominant at Lydden

Even a last lap puncture could not deny Liam Doran (Sittingbourne) victory in the fourth round of the
Monster Energy MSA British Rallycross Championship, in association with MaKTraK at Lydden on
Bank Holiday Monday (August 27). Returning from a season of international events in Europe and
America, Doran was fastest in all three qualifying heats to place his Citroën DS3 Supercar on pole
for the A final.

Current British champion, and points leader in this year's championship, Julian Godfrey (Heathfield)
qualified second to Doran with Belgian visitor Koen Pauwels the third qualifier but absent from the
final after his brand new Ford Focus III developed technical problems at the end of the third heat.
Multiple British champion Pat Doran (Winkleigh) had a troubled run in the heats, gearbox problems
hampering his DS3 in the second heat, the repairs only just completed in time for the third heat.

Starting from fourth place on the grid Doran Snr. emerged as the only real rival to his son in the final,
the pair running close together over the first three laps, Liam always just ahead. Pat Doran was first
to take the additional Joker Lap section and rejoined in second place. Liam Doran posted his fastest
lap at this point, easing out his narrow lead so that when he took the Joker Lap in the last lap he
was able to pass through the longer section of track without losing the lead. The drama came half-
way through the last lap when Liam Doran's car suffered a right front puncture that caused it to run
wide and slide off the track in the last corner, crossing the finish line on the infield area, but still just
in front of his father.

Godfrey had a relatively lonely run to third place, unable to match the lead pace here and regretting
his choice of tyres as he watched Doran snr cut two points out of his championship lead. Steve
Mundy (Ludlow) returned after engine problems sidelined him in round three and posted a strong
fourth place finish, ahead of Belgian Jos Jansen and the Subaru Impreza of Gary Pusey.

1 Liam Doran (Citroën DS3) 3m47.582s; 2 Pat Doran (Citroën DS3) + 0.02s; 3 Julian Godfrey (Ford
Fiesta VI) 1.5s; 4 Steve Mundy (Ford Focus) + 10s; 5 Jos Jansen (Ford Focus III) +15s; 6 Gary Pusey
(Subaru Impreza) +25s.

Championship 1 Godfrey 82; 2 Pat Doran 78; 3 Ollie O'Donovan (Ford Focus) 47; 3 Steve Hill
(Mitsubishi Lancer E10) 42; 5 Liam Doran (Citroën DS3) 42; 6 Andy Grant (Ford Focus) 40.

« News listing